The Darkover Series #1-8 by Marion Zimmer Bradley PB

  • $30.00 USD
  • johnthebear ( 19 )
  • Condition used
  • Item id# 5015016
  • Shipping $20.00
Add to Cart
  • Description
  • Payments, Shipping & Policies
  • Ask a Question
US buyers; S/H for this item will be $20.00 from here in Canada to anywhere in the USA.

The Darkover series is a science fiction-fantasy chronology consisting of several novels and short stories set in the fictional world of Darkover as created by author Marion Zimmer Bradley. The word "Darkover" is a registered trademark owned by the Marion Zimmer Bradley Literary Works Trust.
Commenting on the significance of the Darkover series, science fiction author Baird Searles said that the books were "destined to be The Foundation of the 1970s"

At the end of the 21st century, Earth sends colony ships out to the stars. One of these ships becomes disabled and crash-lands on Darkover, the fourth planet in a red giant solar system. Unable to repair their ship and equally unable to contact with Earth, the survivors establish a colony.

The colonists are primarily ethnic Celtic and Spanish, and this mix is reflected in the resultant blended culture. Bradley falls back on a standard "lost colony" gimmick: to increase the available gene pool and maximize the chances of colonial survival, the colonists intermarry extensively and produce as many children with as many different partners as possible. Psychic and psionic abilities are acquired through interbreeding with the native Chieri people.

The Darkover series spans some 30 novels and 12 short story anthologies,

Offered here are the 1st eight books in the series:

1. Darkover Landfall (1972)
2. Stormqueen! (1978) (with Paul Edwin Zimmer)
3. The Fall of Neskaya (2001)
4. Zandru's Forge (2003)
5. A Flame in Hali (2004)
6. Hawkmistress! (1982)
7. Two to Conquer (1980)
8. The Heirs of Hammerfell (1989)
    Payment Methods
    Shipping $20.00
    Please Login or Register first before asking a question.
    More from johnthebear's Store

    The Quartered Sea by...

    Cetaganda by Lois Mc...

    DragonLance Heroes I...

    The Divide by Elizab...

    Tales Of The Fianna ...

    The Nightingale by K...

    Imager by L E Modesi...

    The Lord-Protector's...

    Imager's Challenge b...

    Bitten by Kelley Arm...

    Duel of Sorcery by J...

    Something Red by Dou...