Shadow Divers by Robert Kurson (2005, Abridged, Compact Disc)

Other
Add to Cart
  • Description
  • Payments, Shipping & Policies
  • Contact seller
SHADOW DIVERS

Synopsis The perilous, obsessive world of the deep-sea diver is revealed in this true account of a six-year quest begun in 1991 to recover items from and discover the identity of a World War II U-boat sunk off the coast of New Jersey, a place where the history books said no such ship should be. As a team of divers explore the twisted wreck underwater and conduct painstaking research on land, lives and marriages will be sacrificed to get to the bottom of the mystery.
SHADOW DIVERS was the nonfiction choice for ABA's 2005 Book Sense Book of the Year Award. Key Details Author: Robert Kurson Language: English Publisher: Random House Format: Audio ISBN-10: 0739320831 ISBN-13: 9780739320839 Additional Details Narrated by: Campbell Scott Edition Description: Abridged

Publisher's Note In the tradition of Jon Krakauer’s Into Thin Air and Sebastian Junger’s The Perfect Storm comes a true tale of riveting adventure in which two weekend scuba divers risk everything to solve a great historical mystery–and make history themselves. For John Chatterton and Richie Kohler, deep wreck diving was more than a sport. Testing themselves against treacherous currents, braving depths that induced hallucinatory effects, navigating through wreckage as perilous as a minefield, they pushed themselves to their limits and beyond, brushing against death more than once in the rusting hulks of sunken ships. But in the fall of 1991, not even these courageous divers were prepared for what they found 230 feet below the surface, in the frigid Atlantic waters sixty miles off the coast of New Jersey: a World War II German U-boat, its ruined interior a macabre wasteland of twisted metal, tangled wires, and human bones–all buried under decades of accumulated sediment. No identifying marks were visible on the submarine or the few artifacts brought to the surface. No historian, expert, or government had a clue as to which U-boat the men had found. In fact, the official records all agreed that there simply could not be a sunken U-boat and crew at that location. Over the next six years, an elite team of divers embarked on a quest to solve the mystery. Some of them would not live to see its end. Chatterton and Kohler, at first bitter rivals, would be drawn into a friendship that deepened to an almost mystical sense of brotherhood with each other and with the drowned U-boat sailors–former enemies of their country. As the men’s marriages frayed under the pressure of a shared obsession, their dives grew more daring, and each realized that he was hunting more than the identities of a lost U-boat and its nameless crew. Author Robert Kurson’s account of this quest is at once thrilling and emotionally complex, and it is written with a vivid sense of what divers actually experience when they meet the dangers of the ocean’s underworld. The story of Shadow Divers often seems too amazing to be true, but it all happened, two hundred thirty feet down, in the deep blue sea.

    Payment Methods
    Shipping $3.99
    Payment Policy

    We accept PAYPAL Friends and Family, Google Pay and USPS Money Orders,

    Shipping Policy

    ****** We have Always offered generous Combined Shipping discounts for 2 or More like items. To receive your discount please complete your Invoice and then use the box to send us a message. We will see your order, get your books/magazines packed and weighed and then apply the discounts to your order and we'll send you a message thru Ebluejay. Once discounts have been applies please use Google Pay to pay for your item(s). We try to get your package shipped no later than One Business day after payment has been received. Thanks *******

    Return/Exchange Policy

    Due to the nature of Horsebooks4u and the out of print books and magazines refunds will be dealt with on an individual basis. Any items to be returned will be at the buyers expense and packaged in the same careful packing as received. Pre-authorization must be received for a refund.

    Other Policies

    We Offer Combined Shipping Discounts ~ FILL a Medium Priority Box (up to 3,328 pages weight ~ to 20 lbs. for International.
    USPS Money Orders, Personal Checks (may have a 10 day hold)and PayPal. Every effort is made to keep items listed up to date, however any item is subject to prior sale.

    Please Login or Register first before asking a question.
    More from Horsebooks4u's Store

    Card Creations Vol. ...
    $5.00

    The Egyptian Alterna...
    $38.95

    100 4x4 Ziplock Sto...
    $5.50

    100 2x3 Ziplock Stor...
    $2.50

    Breyer Stablemates M...
    $17.99

    Horsemanship In Pict...
    $5.50

    100 3x3 Ziplock Stor...
    $3.50

    Harlan Coben PLAY DE...
    $4.75

    8 NEW Arabian Horse ...
    $5.00

    NIATROSS Tribute to ...
    $5.00

    HORSES Yann Arthus-B...
    $9.00

    Horse Sense - A Comp...
    $5.00